MagicWand-K2/K7-Before the Rains…

Hello Everybody,..well here I am again, or rather, here I am still, or perhaps, still I am here?…well that could go on forever and we haven’t got time for that, or rather, we have…..listen to me, sounds like I’m conjugaling the English language!! Ha!

Anyway, the team came round this morning, asked how I’d slept?…I replied,…like a dog?………anyway, later we will know whether or not I’m rabid. In the meantime, here is me heading out towards what I thought, what we all thought was K7, a minor peak in the Himalayas….2014-07-13 11.39.50…….and here, I have laid out my Emergency Kit, which I hoped I would never need…..how wrong could I have been…2014-07-13 11.26.14…….as you can see, I have most situations covered…..and off we went,…..out the back of the, Maharaja’s Palace Hotel, Grill&Bar(Karaoke Daily!)…up the road, left and onto the stream which would be the easiest route up to the Foot-Hills of K7……in hind-sight, as I sit here in the warmth of my controlled bubble, I cannot help but think that it needs three ingredients to make a Disaster….doesn’t matter what the three are, they could be anything,…but here?..well, who knows?…was it the lack of the little dash on the 7 that made it look like a 2,..to the Gov’t Official who issued the climbing-permit?..or the pre-season-Storm that lashed the jumping-off point for those endless, bitter-cold days,….or was it because we were all dodgy after six months at the, Maharaja’s Palace Hotel, Grill&Bar…..KaraokeDaily….with the delays, and disputes,..visas, bar-tabs…..and the rain, always the rain, raining….or was it all of it? we’ll probably never know…..certainly we didn’t know then, and so here I am at Insertion Point Number1….2014-07-13 12.44.16and here I am getting out again!! Nearly killed in the first moments!! Place was alive with dangerous creatures and mosquitoes by the cloud!!!2014-07-13 12.45.10…..we tried various Insertion Points,….all with various degrees of failure,..here I am at 14, I think…..2014-07-13 12.18.19…..and here coming out from 8,…damm that was deep…full of poisonous snakes, and deadly fish and crocodiles…….Crocodiles!!2014-07-13 13.38.27……but we did find a way, you always can,……….particularly if you listen to your guide………….

Anyway, here comes my current guide with my meds,…”I get tired in the afternoons,”… I said

“..it’s the attitude sickness,” she replied.

“…yes, I know, altitude sickness,…but we are above 25,000 feet.”….and I explained and she slid the needle into my arm….

….cold, so cold,..above me a sky of crystalline indigo and Stars I could reach out and pluck, but I’m cold, and my arm is frozen, and I’m frozen and all around me?….white clouds..endless white clouds like an enormous duvet cast over the world stretching endlessly to the far-distant -horizon, and I’m on a near-vertical cliff of dazzling ice and snow…Diamonds all around me, shifting and sparkling and there!!..way in the distance, an enormous peak shouldering out of the clouds,.. maybe as high as me. I feel like waving but my arms don’t work and I can’t breathe and I’m cold, so cold, so bitter-cold…..Catch me!! I cry,..Catch me!……but it isn’t me,….perhaps it is the Wind??….the sky crashes down on me and I fall into a blackness so infinite, so sound-less, so ….cold,…that I know that I must be dead…

One thought on “MagicWand-K2/K7-Before the Rains…

Leave a Reply

